What Can/Can’t You Undo in P6

Mistakes happen. If you’re using Primavera Professional, you’ll be glad to know that not all mistakes need to be permanent. Similar to other software programs, P6 includes an Undo function that allows you to revert back to a certain state. Here’s what P6 allows and how it supports a better workflow.

P6: Undo History

P6 stores up to 50 items in its Undo history. However, the Undo history may vary according to each page that supports the Undo function. What’s more, not all pages allow you to Undo actions using this function.

What Can You Undo in P6?

You can use the Undo function in Primavera Professional on the following pages:

  • Activities
  • Baselines
  • Project and Program Schedule Assignment List
  • Project and Program Resources Assignment List
  • Workspace and Project Roles
  • Workspace and Project Resource
  • WBS

What Can’t You Undo in P6?

The Undo history will clear when you take certain actions on a supported page. These include:

  • Adding a new scenario
  • Applying activity uncertainty
  • Applying view settings on a page
  • Assigning resources or roles
  • Deleting an object
  • Dissolving an activity relationship
  • Downloading or importing templates
  • Exiting the application
  • Moving to the Activity Network view
  • Navigating to a different scenario
  • Pasting a WBS
  • Scheduling or leveling a project
  • Refreshing the page

Undo Tips in Primavera P6

Users can use the Undo feature via the keyword shortcut Ctrl + Z. To redo the action, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Y. 

For Mac users, follow the shortcut Command + Shift + Z to undo an action. 

These shortcuts will be disabled with the Undo or Redo functions aren’t supported or when the history has been cleared.

You can also go to the Edit menu, then select Undo or Redo.

Knowing the keyboard shortcuts can help users save time and increase productivity. 

Need more help navigating Primavera P6? Attend one of our trainings near you!